Professional practice contacts

Contact details about the professional practice office staff at UWE Bristol, including the confidential practice support line and the practice absence reporting line.

Practice support

To raise concerns, share good practice and for general enquiries please contact our practice helpline.
Telephone: +44 (0)117 32 81152
Email: hscpsl@uwe.ac.uk

Practice absence reporting

All HAS students are required to report their absence from practice placement. We also welcome placement providers to report student absence to our dedicated shared inbox. Please see the absence reporting policy for further information.​

Our telephone answer service to record student sick leave and absence.
Telephone: +44 (0)117 32 83283
Email: practiceabsence@uwe.ac.uk

Emergencies and urgent concerns about student welfare

In case of an emergency where a university member of staff is required, we have a dedicated telephone line that can be used only outside of office hours. During office hours please contact the contact numbers above.
Weekdays between 17:00 (16:30 on Fridays) and 08:30 in the morning - or at weekends.
Telephone: +44 (0)781 479 1212

Professional practice office team (PPO)

Nicola Liles, Health and Education Placement Manager
Telephone: +44 (0)117 32 81150
Email: nicola.liles@uwe.ac.uk
(Manages placement coordinators, oversees allocation of students, liaises with programme managers on student issues, including retrievals and other matters.)

Timothy Porter, Health Placement Team Leader
Telephone: +44 (0)117 32 81153
Email: timothy.porter@uwe.ac.uk
(Manages placement administrators, oversees allocation of students, liaises with programme managers on student issues, including retrievals and other matters.)

Brad Shadwell, Placement Coordinator
Telephone: +44 (0)117 32 81156

Email: brad.shadwell@uwe.ac.uk
(Allocation of Adult Nursing students)

Annie Pearce, Placement Coordinator
Telephone:+44 (0)117 32 81154

Email: annie.pearce@uwe.ac.uk
(Allocation of Children and Young People and Paramedic Science students)

Beverley Mead, Placement Coordinator
Telephone:+44 (0)117 32 81179

Email: mhldplacements@uwe.ac.uk
(Allocation of Mental Health and Learning Disabilities Nursing students)

Claire Cresswell, Placement Coordinator
Telephone:+44 (0)117 32 82497

Email: claire.cresswell@uwe.ac.uk
(Allocation of Allied Health Professions students)

Mandy Turner, Placement Coordinator
Telephone:+44 (0)117 32 84153

Email: mandy.turner@uwe.ac.uk
(Allocation of Allied Health Professions students)

Sarah Davies, Placement Coordinator
Telephone:+44 (0)117 32 88943

Email: sarah9.davies@uwe.ac.uk
(Coordinates Social Work placements)

Katherine McPherson, Placement Administrator
Telephone:+44 (0)117 32 88793

Email: kathy.mcpherson@uwe.ac.uk
(Supports the Education team)

Helena Golunska, Health Placement Support Coordinator
Telephone:+ 44 (0)117 32 81152

Email: helena.golunska@uwe.ac.uk
(Allocation of Midwifery students, manages the confidential practice support line and the administration of transitional workshops)

Jenny Phillips, Health Placement Support Coordinator
Telephone:+ 44 (0)117 32 81152

Email: jenny.phillips@uwe.ac.uk
(Allocation of Midwifery students, manages the confidential practice support line and the administration of transitional workshops)

Help and support

For help and support with this site or to update content, please email Student Business Systems Team hscpsl@uwe.ac.uk

Back to top