Boards and committees

Information about the boards and committees that govern postgraduate research. Terms of reference for each committee are available.

Graduate School Committee (GSC)

The purpose of this committee is to be responsible to the Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee (and where appropriate, the Learning, Teaching and Student Experience Committee) for the implementation of Graduate School processes and policies with the aim of supporting a sustainable, high-quality postgraduate research student experience at the University.

The committee is chaired by the Graduate School Director, Professor Neil Willey, and includes Faculty Directors of Research and representatives from the PGR community.

GSC dates 2017/2018

  • Tuesday 26 September 2017
  • Tuesday 7 November 2017
  • Tuesday 23 January 2018
  • Tuesday 27 March 2018
  • Tuesday 12 June 2018 
  • Contact:

Faculty Research Degrees Committee (FRDC)

The purpose of each faculty-specific Research Degrees Committee is to be responsible to the Graduate School Committee for promoting high-quality postgraduate research education across all disciplines. Each FRDC is also responsible to the AQEC for implementation of the University’s Quality Management and Enhancement Framework as it relates to Research Degrees.

The committees implement policies and procedures for the assessment of Postgraduate Researchers (PGR) and make recommendations for the approval of examination arrangements for PGRs to the Research Degrees Award Board. Committees are chaired by the Research Degree Director (or equivalent) and members include appropriate Associate Deans and Associate Heads of Department.

Arts, Creative Industries and Education (ACE)

Members of the Committee:

  • Dr David Greenham, Director of Postgraduate Research (Chair)
  • Professor Jennifer Stein, Department Research Degrees Co-ordinator, Film and Journalism 
  • Dr Anna Piasecki, Department Research Degrees Co-ordinator, Arts and Cultural Industries
  • Dr Dean Smart, Department Research Degrees Co-ordinator, Education 
  • Dr Richard Waller, Department Research Degrees Co-ordinator, Education and Childhood
  • Dr Clare Johnson, Department Research Degrees Co-ordinator, Creative Industries 
  • Hazel Edwards, Associate Dean: ACE
  • Mashael Altamami PGR Rep
  • Jane Carter PGR Rep

Faculty of Business and Law (FBL)

Members of the Committee:

  • Dr Svetlana Cicmil, Director of Post Graduate Research (Chair)
  • Professor Nicholas O’Regan, Associate Dean (Research & Innovation)   
  • Associate Heads of Department (Research) or equivalent:
    • vacancy
    • Professor Don Webber, Professor of Applied Economics 
    • Professor Nicholas Ryder, Professor of Financial Crime 
  • Directors of Studies and Research Centre Representatives:
    • Dr Ismail Adelopo, Associate Professor Accounting and Finance 
    • Professor Sue Durbin, Professor of Human Resource Management
    • Professor Hazel Conley, Professor of Human Resource Management 
    • Professor Daniela Gabor, Professor of Economics and Macro-Finance 
    • Professor Peter Case, Professor of Organisation Studies
    • Professor Jona Razzaque, Postgraduate Scheme Director
    • Fiona Spotswood, Faculty PGR Tutor
    • Glenn Parry, DBA Programme Leader 
    • Sam Bourton, PGR rep
    • Abdel Said, PGR rep

Faculty of Environment and Technology (FET)

Members of the committee:

  • Dr Alistair Clark, Director of Postgraduate Research (Chair)
  • Professor Glenn Lyons, Associate Dean (Research and Knowledge Exchange)
  • Professor Chad Staddon, Associate Head of Department  - Geography and Environmental Management
  • Dr Colin Booth, Associate Head of Department – Architecture and the Built Environment
  • Professor Larry Bull, Associate Head of Department – Computer Science and Creative Technologies
  • Dr Matt Studley, Associate Head of Department - Engineering Design and Mathematics
  • Joseph Bolarinwa, PGR rep
  • Jenna Brown, PGR rep 

Health and Applied Sciences (HAS)

Members of the committee:

  • Dr Tim Moss (Chair)
  • Professor Olena Doran, Associate Dean Research
  • Dr Mary Cramp, AHP Associate Head of Department
  • Professor John Hancock, AS Associate Head of Department
  • Dr John Albarran, Nursing and Midwifery Associate Head of Department
  • Dr Issy Bray 
  • Hannah Stott, Glenside PGR rep
  • Kelechi Okeke, Frenchay PGR rep

FRDC dates 2017/2018

ACE Committee Dates HAS Committee Dates FBL Committee Dates FET Committee Dates
11 October 2017 18 October 2017 10 October 2017 24 October 2017
22 November 2017 6 December 2017 21 November 2017 5 December 2017
10 January 2018 24 January 2018 16 January 2018 30 January 2018
7 February 2018 7 March 2018 6 March 2018 6 March 2018
11 April 2018 11 April 2018 17 April 2018 24 April 2018
23 May 2018 6 June 2018 5 June 2018 5 June 2018
11 July 2018   10 July 2018  

* Please note that paper deadlines are in place for all committees, but vary according to faculty

Research Degrees Award Board (RDAB)

The purpose of the Research Degrees Award Board is to receive the recommended outcome from the viva voce examination alongside outcomes in taught modules from field boards and on this basis will make recommendations for the award of the appropriate research degree.

RDAB dates and deadlines 2017/2018

Paper deadline RDAB meeting date    
3 October 2017 17 October 2017    
28 November 2017 12 December 2017    
13 February 2018 27 February 2018    
27 March 2018 10 April 2018    
12 June 2018 26 June 2018    
28 August 2018 11 September 2018    


Back to top