Data storage facilities

Where to save your work

Personal Home Drive (H: Drive)

  • UWE Bristol allocates every student 1GB of space on its servers.
  • It is secure because this space can only be accessed by you and is automatically backed up so files can be restored if deleted. 
  • If you get close to, or exceed, this space allocation you will not be able to save or copy files to it. A full H: Drive can affect your ability to log on or use some programs as profile and temporary files are stored here. To reduce the size:
    • Delete old and unnecessary files.
    • Move files to OneDrive or your own personal storage space.
    • Reduce the size of graphics files by reducing the resolution where possible.

Access the H: drive

  • The H: Drive will appear in the usual list of drives when logged on to a UWE PC or Mac. On a Mac be aware that the symbols for the 'Home' location of the Mac and the H: Drive look very similar. 
  • From your home computer via the XA (eXternal Access) system.

View how much space you have available on your H: drive

PC:

  1. Within Windows Explorer, go to 'This PC'.
  2. Right click on '(H:)'
  3. Select 'Properties'. You will be presented with a pie chart showing the used and free home drive space.

Mac:

  1. Within Finder go to 'My computer'.
  2. Right click on 'Home (H:)'.
  3. Select 'Get Info'. The space left is shown under 'Available'.

OneDrive

  • Each student is provided with a free 1TB OneDrive account from Microsoft that is accessible from within Office 365 and tied to your email account.
  • It is secure because this space can only be accessed by you and is automatically backed up on Microsoft servers so files can be restored if deleted. 

Access OneDrive

Your OneDrive is accessible from any device with internet connection.

  1. Log in to myUWE using your UWE username and password and click on 'UWE email'.
  2. Navigate to 'Office 365' (top left) and then 'OneDrive'.
  3. Files and folders can be added through the 'Upload' button on the top ribbon.

Important note: we recommend that you do not access your email from any other links or sources eg. a Google search.

Blackboard Content System

  • Blackboard provides a personal storage area, accessible from the 'Blackboard Content Collection' tab.
  • All students have an allocation of 40Mb of storage space for the purpose of storing assignments and GDP materials for use in Blackboard.
  • It is not intended for long term general data storage. Guidance for students is available on the Blackboard support web site .

Removable media

USB memory sticks

This is are our least favoured method of saving work and not recommended as the primary working area for saving work. They need to be used with caution for the following reason:

  • Data can easily be corrupted. To reduce this risk use the ‘Remove hardware safely’ option.
  • They are not very robust and easily damaged.
  • They are easily lost. Any items ITS find are handed in to Lost Property see http://www1.uwe.ac.uk/about/contactus/lostproperty.aspx .
  • They should be encrypted and password protected. Sensitive information should not be stored on them and you may want to consider the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) when saving sensitive information. Please refer to best practice on secure storage at http://www1.uwe.ac.uk/its/informationsecuritytoolkit/securestorage.aspx .
  • Some are formatted to only work on Macs or PCs which can be inconvenient for some students moving between different platforms.
  • If you do decide to use a USB stick, make sure you load the file onto the computer before working on it, then save finished work to either your H Drive or OneDrive and then to your USB stick.

Data restore

How to restore a file or folder

Copies of the files and folders in your H: drive are every 15 minutes kept for 14 days. So if you delete a file or simply want to go back to an older version you can restore.

To restore a folder:

  1. Within Windows Explorer, select the folder you wish to restore by left clicking on it once.
  2. Right mouse click and choose 'Restore Previous Versions'. A list of each copy of the selected folder is shown in a pop-up window, along with the date it was made.
  3. Select the version required and choose either 'Open', 'Copy' or 'Restore':
Open: this will open the selected version of the folder e.g. the folder as it was at the point in time chosen.
Copy: this will copy the selected version of the folder to a location of choice. The copy will be the folder as it was at the point in time chosen (requires right click on the folder to access this option).
Restore: this will restore the selected version of the folder over the existing copy of that folder.
 

To restore individual Files:

  1. Within Windows Explorer, select the folder where the restore is required by left clicking on it.
  2. Right click and choose Restore Previous Versions. A list of each copy of the selected folder is shown in a pop-up window.
  3. Select the version required and choose 'Open'. The folder will open and the date of the version will be shown in the address bar.
  4. Select the required file, right-mouse-click and choose 'Copy'.
  5. Paste the file in a location of your choice.  The file will now be restored to that location.

OneDrive

Information on restoring a deleted file on OneDrive can be found here.

Data retention

Retaining your work at the end of your studies

Please be aware that 42 days after the completion of your course, your username and any data held on UWE systems (including BlackBoard, H and S Drives) will be deleted. This is also true of your OneDrive allocation. IT Services is unable to retrieve data (including archived files) after this time.

Therefore, please ensure that you backup all your work and correspondence outside of the UWE network at the end of your course at UWE.

In addition, access to your module materials in Blackboard will end when the module run ends. You are therefore strongly advised to download any materials you may wish to refer to in the future before you complete a module.

What to avoid at all costs

Our tips and tricks to not lose your work

Never work directly from an email attachment

Before you start working on the attachment, always use 'Save As'. 'Save as' to one of the recommended storage areas above.

Don't just open the attachment, work on it and click Save - you will lose your changes and we cannot recover them.

Never start a document without saving it. The computer could crash

Always save a new piece of work as soon as you start it. Many programs will auto-save your work every 15 minutes, but they won't, unless you have clicked 'Save As' first.

Never save work solely on a memory stick, as it may become damaged

Always keep important files in more than one location. Save on your H drive, your SkyDrive or removable media.

Never leave your work until the last minute

Most mistakes are made when people are in a rush and under pressure.


When saving personal or confidential data, please do take into consideration the Data Protection Act and the UWE Data Security Policy.

In addition, access to your module materials in Blackboard will end when the module run ends. You are therefore strongly advised to download any materials you may wish to refer to in the future before you complete a module.

Back to top