Advisory Board

Late in 2004 the Centre for Transport and Society (CTS) established an Advisory Board to help guide its ongoing development. The Board is responsible for:

  • keeping under review the portfolio of CTS research in terms of its fit with the 'transport and society' focus of the Centre;
  • commenting on the balance of the portfolio in terms of fundamental and applied research and its degree of relevance to current and future policy and practice;
  • commenting on research quality and achievement as evidenced by the range and nature of dissemination;
  • advising on the size and composition of the CTS team (staff and research students);
  • advising on future opportunities and initiatives; and
  • providing other advice to assist the Director of CTS in taking steps to attain/maintain a reputation of international standing for CTS.


Professor Richard Allsop (Board Chairman), Professor of Transport Studies, Centre for Transport Studies, University College London
Dr Jillian Anable, Research Fellow, The Centre for Transport Policy, Aberdeen Business School, The Robert Gordon University
Dr Matthew Bradley, Group Marketing Manager, Go-Ahead Group plc
Dr Denvil Coombe, The Denvil Coombe Practice
Barbara Davies, Team Manager, Transport Initiatives, Bristol City Council
Peter Dawson, Head of Regional Transport, Government Office for the South West
Ann Frye, Head, Mobility and Inclusion Unit, Department for Transport
Liz Micklethwaite, Head of External Communications, Greater Manchester Passenger Transport Executive
Elaine Seagriff, External Policy Manager, Transport for London
Professor Steve Stradling, Professor of Transport Psychology, Transport Research Institute, Napier University
Professor John Urry, Professor of Sociology and Co-Director of CeMoRe, Centre for Mobilities Research, Sociology Department, Lancaster University

Professor Martin Boddy, Associate Dean - Research, Faculty of the Built Environment, UWE
Dr Juliet Jain (CTS researchers' representative), Centre for Transport & Society, UWE
Professor Jim Longhurst, Associate Dean - Programmes and Research, Faculty of Applied Sciences, UWE
Professor Glenn Lyons, Director, Centre for Transport & Society, UWE
Linda Skinner, Director, Centre for Research, Innovation and Graduate Studies, UWE

Back to top