A row of graduating students.

Academic Practice Directorate

The Academic Practice Directorate (APD) supports colleagues and students in the design, delivery and recognition of outstanding programmes and outstanding academic practice.

Our specialist team is here to support any academic development activity related to teaching, learning and assessment, to facilitate and promote an institutional culture of ongoing enhancement.

Activities and services

  • working directly with programme teams on the development and enhancement of their curricula and teaching practices
  • providing individuals and groups with support and mentoring for internal and external recognition awards (eg HEA Fellowships, National Teaching Fellowships, Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence)
  • promoting and facilitating educational enquiry, evaluation and development, through internal seed-corn funding awards, and supporting and partnering colleagues in the pursuit of external funding
  • bringing staff, students and external partners together to exchange ideas and share expertise and experience through institution-wide events and bespoke team-based development workshops
  • working in partnership with experienced colleagues from across the University, we offer a range of Advance HE accredited programmes for achieving fellowship recognition, and specialist continuous professional development opportunities.

Read more about our offer on the staff intranet and access our resources through the Education Essentials pages.. If you have any suggestions or queries please email us at AcademicPractice@uwe.ac.uk.

The team

Susi Peacock
PFHEA, PhD, PGCert, MSc, BA(Hons)
Deputy Director and Head of Digital Education

Helen King
NTF, PFHEA, SFSEDA, PhD, BSc(Joint Hons), PGCert
Deputy Director of Academic Practice and Head of Academic Development

Petia Petrova
SFHEA, PhD, MSc, BA(Hons)
Associate Director of Academic Practice

Laura Bennett
SFHEA, PhD, MA, BA(Hons)
Associate Director of Academic Practice

Paul Redford
DPhil, MSc, BA(Hons), SFHEA, CPsychol
Associate Director of Academic Practice

Shaun Mudd
Senior Lecturer in Academic Practice

Rebecca Ward
BSc(Hons), Dip
CPD Recognition and Framework Manager

Russell Brookes
Senior Digital Education Advisor

Jenny Narborough
FHEA, PGCertHE, BSc(Hons)
Learning Technologist

James Brennan
BA(Hons), AinstAM
Senior Administrator and Project Coordinator

Julia Denman
Administrative Assistant

Louise Mighall
Administrative Assistant

Lauren Rubery
BA(Hons), PGDip
Administrative Assistant

Amber Huckle
MA, BA(Hons)
Administrative Assistant

Back to top