Sustainability contacts

UWE Bristol and The Students' Union at UWE have many staff who can provide information about our whole institution approach to sustainability. The people listed below are the key contacts who should be able to answer any questions you might have.

If you cannot find the person you need please email us at sustainability@uwe.ac.uk.

Contacts

Sustainability lead

Professor James LonghurstProfessor James Longhurst

Assistant Vice-Chancellor: Environment and Sustainability
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83692

Contact James for Institutional policy, Sustainability Board, Governance and integration of sustainability; Sustainable Development Goals, Education for Sustainable Development, Sustainability Research and Knowledge Exchange, and Bristol Green Capital Partnership.


The Students' Union at UWE

Tom BallTom Ball

Green Team Co-ordinator Student Union
Email: Tom.Ball@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Tom for how to get involved in the Green Team, and for information on campaigns eg #plasticdetox, projects and activities, such as the community garden.


Ciaran Gutteridge - Chair of Sustainability committeeCiaran Gutteridge

Chair of Sustainability committee (from July 2018 to July 2019)
Email: suofficer.sustainability@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Ciaran to find out more about the Green Team and student engagement and mobilisation.


Giang Nguyen - President of the Students' Union at UWEGiang Nguyen

President
Email: president@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Giang for The Student Union at UWE's strategic approach to sustainability.


Rachel ColleyRachel Colley

Community Manager
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 82010
Email: Rachel2.Colley@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Rachel for Community, SU volunteering, Green Impact and Responsible Futures.


Education for Sustainable Development

Dr Svetlana CicmilSvetlana Cicmil

Director of Doctoral Research Bristol Business School
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83464

Contact Svetlana for information on PRME (Principles of Responsible Management in Education).


Dr Georgie GoughDr Georgina Gough

Senior Lecturer in Education for Sustainable Development
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87139

Contact Georgina for: support with sustainability in teaching and learning and the Knowledge Exchange for Sustainability Education group (KESE) at UWE Bristol; to find out more about Responsible Futures Accreditation and the application of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals within the curriculum at the University.


Dr Sarah HillsDr Sarah Hills

Programme Leader: MSc Sustainable Development in Practice
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 86449

Contact Sarah for information about the MSc and the integration of sustainability into teaching and learning more broadly at UWE Bristol.


Philippa SheltonPhilippa Shelton

Research Team Manager: RBI - Research and Business Development
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83306
Email: Philippa.Shelton@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Philippa for Research and Knowledge Exchange support.


Carbon Energy and Water

Alan CookAlan Cook

Water Engineer
Tel: +44 (0)117 3287128
Email: alan.cook@uwe.ac.uk  

Contact Alan for information on our water management strategy and our practice and progress in monitoring and reduction on the ground.


 

Melissa ClarkeMelissa Clarke

Energy Officer (part-time 0.7)
Email: Melissa2.clarke@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Melissa for our energy data and details of student engagement activities in our accommodation.


Paul ManleyPaul Manley

Energy Engineer
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87388
Email: Paul.Manley@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Paul about our Energy and Water strategies and services, Carbon Management Plan and associated carbon reduction measures, and student engagement and study projects.


Kirsti NorrisKirsti Norris

Carbon Action Manager
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87320
Email: kirsti.norris@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Kirsti for information and initiatives on reducing energy and water across UWE Bristol; also for how we are implementing the energy management standard, ISO 50001.


Elaine WilliamsElaine Williams

Energy Administrator (part-time 0.6)
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87551
Email: Elaine3.Williams@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Elaine for Energy and Water enquiries.


Communications and engagement and practice based learning

Vicki HarrisVicki Harris

Communications and Engagement
Fairtrade
(part-time 0.6)
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 82658

Contact Vicki for support with sustainability in teaching and learning, student and staff engagement, campaigns events and behaviour change initiatives, Big Green week, Fairtrade Fortnight and volunteering and work-based learning opportunities.


Environmental management system – ISO14001

Louise Finch Environment OfficerLouise Finch

Environment Officer (part-time 0.7)
Tel: +44 (0) 117 32 87207
Email: Louise3.Finch@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Louise for details of how we ensure continuous improvement in Sustainability under the ISO 14001certification system and for related advice on Environmental Management.


Katherine PiperKatherine Piper

Environmental Sustainability Intern (part-time 0.4, May – September 2018)
Email: Katherine.Piper@uwe.ac.uk
Contact Katherine for our stakeholder engagement on environmental sustainability needs and expectations, and for ways to improve UWE Bristol's environmental performance.


Grounds and Biodiversity

Richie FluesterRichie Fluester

Grounds Manager
Tel: +44 (0)117 3283046

Contact Richie about Biodiversity and sustainable gardening practices in the management of our grounds, plus our Community Garden and student growing project.


Procurement

Helen BakerHelen Baker

Head of Procurement
Email: Helen.baker@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Helen for information on all our sustainable procurement practices, Net Positive Futures, the Southern Universities Purchasing Consortium and Partners in Procurement.


Ollie WhittleOllie Whittle

Purchasing and Contracts Manager
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83959
Email: Ollie.Whittle@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Ollie about sustainability and all aspects of accountability and transparency in our supply chains.


Sustainability and Operations, including Waste and Resources

Paul RobertsPaul Roberts

Sustainability Operations Manager
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83591
Email: Paul5.roberts@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Paul about our sustainability operations and the work of the sustainability team on campus, waste and resources management and the circular economy, and for support with student projects.


Eddy PiperEddy Piper

Sustainability Projects Officer
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 86531
Email: Eddy.Piper@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Eddy about our waste, reuse and recycling policies and practices, the furniture reuse project and other sustainable waste projects.


Travel

Chris Donnelley Chris Donnelley

Travel and Access manager
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83924
Email: Chris.Donnelly@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Chris for the overview of our travel services and our Travel Plan.


James Morvan James Morvan

Travel Planning officer
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87154
Email: james.morvan@uwe.ac.uk

Contact James about UWE Bristol's travel plan, sustainable travel modes in particular cycling and walking, and student and staff travel engagement activities.


Sophie Prosser Sophie Prosser

Public Realm Officer
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 87601
Email: Sophie.prosser@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Sophie for health and safety in the external space around, between and within buildings, including footpaths, roads, and open spaces on UWE Bristol campuses. Also for our ISO140001 auditing of external spaces.


Volunteering and partnership working

Jamie DarwenJamie Darwen

Head of Regional and Community Partnerships
Tel: +44 (0)117 3286342
Email: Jamie.darwen@uwe.ac.uk

Contact Jamie for information about partnerships with voluntary and community sector organisations, Skills Bridge, and community-based learning projects.


Contact us

If you have any queries, feedback or suggestions:

Sustainability team
North Avon House
UWE Bristol
Frenchay Campus
Coldharbour Lane
Bristol, BS16 1QY

Email: sustainability@uwe.ac.uk

Find us on Facebook and Twitter and visit The Students' Union Green Team.

Back to top